Deleting a Job

There may be a circumstance under which you want to delete a Job from your fp. system. Please be certain this is something you have to do before proceeding, and do be careful that you only delete the particular Job, and not other information you might need. We will not be readily able to restore information you delete in error.

Deleting a Job can involve a bit of reverse engineering - associated information such as Invoices, Timesheets, and Expenses, will first need to be deleted, before you can delete the Job.

Please review this article to learn the steps to delete a Job in your system.

Where should I start?

Start by navigating to the Job you wish to delete. The Summary tab, and sub-navigation bar, give us a good idea of what I'm going to need to delete before I can delete the Job.

The lit up tabs across the page show me that this Job has an associated Schedule, Tasks, Invoices, Timesheets and Expenses.

Delete Invoices

Click into the tab called Invoices. In this case, I only have one Invoice that needs deleting. Click the Invoice Name (or Number) to go to a detailed view of the Invoice.

Click the Delete button.

And click Delete to confirm this step.

Back at the Job level now, our Invoices tab is greyed out, and the values on the Summary tab have updated. Repeat these steps if you have more than one invoice against the Job.

Delete Timesheets

Click into the tab called Timesheets. In this case, I only have several Timesheets that needs deleting. Each will need to be deleted, one by one. Click the Date to go to a detailed view of any Timesheet.

Click the Delete button.

That Timesheet is now gone. Back on the Timesheets tab of the Job, click the next Timesheet in the list.

Back at the Job level now, our Timesheets tab is greyed out, and the values on the Summary tab have updated.

Delete Expenses

Click into the tab called Expenses. In this case, I only have one External Expense that needs deleting. If I had more, each would need to be deleted, one by one. Click the Date to go to a detailed view of any Expense.

Click the Delete button.

And click Yes, Delete this Item, to confirm this step.

Back at the Job level now, our Expenses tab is greyed out, and the values on the Summary tab have updated.

Delete the Job

Now that the Invoices, tracked time and Expenses are off the Job, it can be deleted. The Delete button is no longer greyed out.

Click the Delete button when ready.

The system will ask you to confirm this deletion, and give you the option to not delete particular items. Click Delete when ready.

The Job, and any remaining content is now out of the system. Searching for this Job yields no results.

We welcome your questions or concerns: support@functionpoint.com

0 Comments

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment