Revisions & Historical Estimates

Creating a revision of your Estimate allows you to keep a history of all the changes made to an Estimate over time. This can act like a paper trail, allowing you to see how an Estimate had to change, to accommodate a client or colleague.

On any Estimate, you can use the Create Revision button to get the system to save the previous version. And any Estimate in a status of Approved (or Declined) will automatically save a version for you if and when changes are made.

Please review this article to learn more about Estimate Revision options.

Create Revision Action Button

Once an Estimate is created, you will see the Create Revision button in the top right of the Estimate Details page. If your Estimate is in an Approval Status of "In Review" or "Submitted", and you wish to save the current version of this Estimate before you make changes, click the Create Revision button.

The system will ask you to confirm you want to create this Revision. Click Revise to continue.

The system will move you over to the Services tab, where you can make adjustments to the Service Groups and Services, as well as the estimated hours, rates and costs to do the proposed work.

Click Save when you're done with your changes.

The Estimate now has "r1" as part of the naming convention, to represent that 1 revision has been made. Now under the Revisions tab, we can see both the historical and active records, as well as the changes in values for the Services and Expenses.

Automatic Revisions on Estimates

Let's mark this Estimate as Approved. Doing so will bring up a notice for us - this is letting us know that should we now choose to or need to make edits to this Estimate, the system will automatically create a revision for us.

Click Continue.

Move over to the Services tab, and click Revise & Edit Services.

A modal will appear to let you know a revised version will be automatically saved for you. Click Revise.

Now make any changes - add or remove Service Groups and Services, change hours, rates and costs to do the proposed work. Click Save when done.

A Set Approval Status modal will appear. Here you can:

  1. Un-check the box to no longer have the Estimate set as Approved.The Estimate would go back to an In Review status.
  2. Change the approval date.
  3. Choose to not have this change send out associated alerts/ emails that staff may be signed up for, with regards to Estimate changes.

Click Submit when ready.

The Estimate now has "r2" as part of the naming convention, to represent that a second revisions has been made. And under the Revisions tab, we can see both the historical and active records, as well as the changes in values for the Services and Expenses.

Note: I can make any historical version of the Estimate the active version again, so long as there are not Timesheets or Actual Expenses tracked to the Job from which this Estimate was made. Click into any of the Historical versions from the Revisions tab (as in step above) to see the "Make Active" action button.

We welcome your questions or concerns: support@functionpoint.com

0 Comments

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment